Top
All Channels
50°

Carra honest over Reds penalty

Liverpool captain Jamie Carragher admitted after his side's win at Sunderland that the penalty they scored from was incorrectly awarded.

Referee Kevin Friend awarded Liverpool a first-half penalty in Sunday's 2-0 Premier League victory at the Stadium of Light on the advice of his assistant, but the challenge by Black Cats defender John Mensah on Jay Spearing occurred outside the box.

Dirk Kuyt tucked away the spot-kick and Carragher accepted the Reds were fortunate to have got the decision.

He told Sky Sports: "I thought it was a penalty, but then I looked at half-time and I don't think it was, was it? It was just outside.

"Everyone knows goals change games - up to then it had been pretty even and Sunderland had been putting a bit of pressure on. Every week you can look at different incidents and you can always say it changes the game. Maybe it has gone our way but thankfully we got the other (goal) to make sure so you could say we would still have won 1-0."

Read Full Story >>
teamtalk.com
The story is too old to be commented.